Apa style for a cover page

People with an Anxious Attachment Style

2017.01.18 06:36 radariz1965 People with an Anxious Attachment Style

A space for people who struggle with an anxious attachment style to learn more about it (so as to get on the path of healing), share experiences of their healing journey, find support while healing, and give tips and feedback for discovering healthier coping mechanisms, and overall feeling more secure within yourself (and with others).
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2008.04.08 18:07 /r/Dance: The Art of Movement of the Body

We support any protests against Reddit being an ass about API pricing. While we're thinking what to do, consider heading over to lemmy.ml to create new communities not limited by corporate greed.
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2011.05.27 04:26 papermario13689 Manga Swap: Buy, Sell, Trade.

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2024.05.16 22:35 KassyKeil91 “Ask 3 Before Me”

Have to laugh at this. One of the classes I’m teaching this year (outside my content area) is basically a study skills/organization class for 6th graders. We cover things like planners, different styles of note taking, how to write emails to your teachers, etc. It’s kinda a dumb class and everything is provided by the district, so it’s a very mixed bag in terms of being useful.
Today, we went over the rule “ask 3 before me”—meaning, you should consider at least 3 other sources (other classmates, re-reading directions, online resources, etc) before asking your teacher. The assignment had them going through some of those sources and rating them based on how helpful they thought it would be.
Y’all. As they were doing the assignment about trying to not just ask your teacher, they still could not be bothered to try any of the options listed. When I pushed back, one kid literally started arguing because she would just rather ask a teacher. She got annoyed when I wouldn’t remind her what Wikipedia was and told her to google it. 😂
submitted by KassyKeil91 to Teachers [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:28 Far-Farmer3583 Question about your tattoos

Hello everyone,
I am a female and I’ve been researching traditional tattoos lately. Today I talked to a colleague about this style and she reacted kind of shocked when I told her I was thinking about getting my legs covered in tattoos like that. She said, and I quote: “That’s definitely a style for men and men only! It would look so manly and take away from your femininity!” I’m gonna be honest, I’m 178cm and have a RBF. The last thing I need is for even more of my femininity being taken away lol 😬 I’m looking for opinions on this, as I’m not so sure what to think now. Thx and Sorry if my words sound funny lol, English isn’t my first language. Thx :)
submitted by Far-Farmer3583 to traditionaltattoos [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:27 yodogerik A Short Sweet Natsuki Fluff Story

I wake up, and the first thing I see is a familiar pink puff of hair lying next to me.
It’s been about a month since me and Natsuki started dating, but even now, I still get butterflies whenever I see her.
I look at the clock.
I’m up about 30 minutes before our alarm goes off.
Today is the first day back at school, so I’m sure she won’t be happy to be reminded that alarm clocks exist.
I decide to seize the opportunity and make a special breakfast for this special day.
I very slowly ease my way out of bed, as to not wake her, and I quietly tiptoe out the door and down the stairs, before finally relaxing.
I decide a good breakfast would be something with Natsuki’s style. Something sweet…
Some fluffy pancakes with whipped cream and strawberries.
Once I make sure I have all the ingredients, I get to work.
I’ve definitely gotten better at cooking ever since I just started hanging out with her.
Even so, she can still easily cook circles around me on all accounts, especially with baking.
Luckily, this is one of the fairly few recipes I know well enough to do justice.
Half an hour passes, and I hear the familiar beeping of the alarm from upstairs.
I’m not done with breakfast yet, though. Although I’m quite comfortable with this recipe, I’m still not fast.
Luckily, the strawberries are all cut up, and I’m not skilled enough to make whipped cream, so I just have a can from the store.
All that’s left is to cook the batter into pancakes.
A few minutes pass, and I hear light stomps come down the stairs.
I turn to see Natsuki in her pink shirt and her fuzzy pajama pants covered with cats, still rubbing the sleepy from her eyes as she makes it to the bottom step.
Natsuki: “Ugh. Why do alarm clocks exist?”
MC: “Good morning to you too, cupcake.”
She sleepily comes up behind me and hugs me from behind as I flip the pancakes, practically laying on me as if I’m a second bed.
Her arms only wrap around my stomach, because of the almost foot-and-a-half I have on her.
Although she’s tired now, I know she’s been looking forward to this for a while.
Mainly just to see the other club members again.
We’ve all gotten together a few times over the summer.
But by “a few times,” I mean twice.
After last year we’ve all gotten really close, and since Natsuki’s Dad is out of the picture, she’s gotten even closer than before.
She now considers us all her family.
Natsuki: “What are you makin’, MC?”
MC: “A special day should start with a special breakfast.”
She finally let’s go of me and walks around me to look at the counter.
As she does, her mood noticeably brightens, and her eyes fully open for the first time all morning.
Natsuki: “Ooooo!”
MC: “Give it a minute, I’m almost done. I’m still not nearly as fast as you.”
Natsuki: “Well, I wasn’t the pro I am today when I first started. You’ve actually gotten really good.”
MC: “Aww, thanks cupcake.”
I bend down and give her a quick kiss.
MC: “How about you take a quick shower, and this should be ready by the time you get out.”
Natsuki: “You read my mind.”
She starts heading upstairs, but turns around at the second step.
Natsuki: “Oh, and you remember how I like mine?”
MC: “Extra whipped cream, and a cat outline of strawberries?”
Natsuki: “You’re the best, MC. I love you!”
She jogs the rest of the way up the stairs.
I sigh and smile to myself as I finish up breakfast.
submitted by yodogerik to DDLC [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:25 Vicksin r/afkarena Rules and Guidelines

Greetings Adventurers!

We've just restructured and consolidated our previous Rules page to be more straightforward and cohesive. Due to the character limit in a rule's description, this post will go more in-depth regarding what these rules mean, provide examples of what is and isn't acceptable under these rules, and aims to clear any confusion or misconception regarding our rules.
By participating in our Subreddit, you are committing to honor and abide by our rules.

1) Be respectful and civil

As straightforward as it gets, the number one rule for a reason. Be kind to others, be good people.
Please don't hesitate to contact Modmail if you are feeling unsafe for any reason.

2) No targeted harassment or personal attacks

In tandem with Rule 1, this rule more specifically refers to direct attacks on individuals. Under no circumstances should any individual feel like they are being unjustly targeted, attacked, or under the threats of malicious intent by any other individual(s).
Do not make anyone feel unsafe or unwelcome. We do not take these situations lightly.

3) Submissions must be relevant to AFK

Keep posts relevant to AFK Arena or AFK Journey in some nature. Any discussion of clones will be removed. There must be a direct link to AFK in some form to constitute relevance.

4) External links and self-promotion must be approved

Any form of self-promotion, such as links to YouTube or other social media platforms, must be approved via Modmail.
Posts regarding submissions to official AFK Arena contests, such as artwork contests, do not need approval.

5) No Misleading Information

Everyone is welcome and encouraged to express their (unharmful) opinions, but the outright spread of misinformation, especially when presented as factual information, can be very misleading and harmful to the community.
If you are UNSURE if the information you are presenting is a fact, preface it with something to the effect of, "I think" to prevent misconception.

6) Use our designated Megathreads

To reduce clutter, our Subreddit implements the use of Megathreads to keep things organized.

7) Check for recurrent/duplicate topics before creating a new post

8) Submissions that involve explicit NSFW content are prohibited

Another simple and straightforward rule - posts or comments of explicit NSFW nature are prohibited. This includes, but is not limited to:

9) Credit(s) must be given to the creator(s), even if it is your own work

Any post or comment which shares artwork, digital media, or content of any kind must credit the creator(s).

10) Poll posts must have an additional option for users to view the results of the poll

When making a "poll"-type post, an option must be included that allows users to simply see the results of the poll without impacting the results.

11) Properly title and flair your posts

See a detailed explanation of our Post Flairs here
Misleading, incorrect, irrelevant, or otherwise non-specific post titles about a specific subject may be removed.
Using incorrect or intentionally misleading flairs for your post may result in post removal.

Report content that breaks our rules

While not a rule nor obligation by any means, we greatly appreciate users who do their due diligence and report comments or posts that break our rules.
Intentionally submitting false reports with any negative intent may be subject to disciplinary action.

Disciplinary actions

Disciplinary action for breaking these rules may vary based on severity, and may include warnings, temporary bans, or permanent bans with repeated instances or escalation.

Conclusion

If you have any questions or clarifications regarding our rules, or anything stated in this post, please feel free to comment below, or contact us via Modmail.
Thank you all, have a great day, and be good people!
submitted by Vicksin to afkarena [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:22 Curious_Engineer_284 Block youtube gaming videos

https://preview.redd.it/mw4ndd33ku0d1.png?width=662&format=png&auto=webp&s=d154c5d74097faa772d5734a812768d7723e197e
I wanted to create a filter that blocks the youtube page if a video has the gaming tag underneath (for productivity reasons). However, I'm not educated on filters or programming at all. The filters I already have, are filters I have copied from other places. I haven't been able to find any topic on this extremely specific question, so I hope you guys can help!
My best effort (and the help of the zapper tool) gave me the following, which doesn't work:
youtube.com##ytd-rich-metadata-renderer.ytd-rich-metadata-row-renderer.style-scope:nth-of-type(2):has-text((/\bGaming\b/i)):upward(ytd-app)
submitted by Curious_Engineer_284 to uBlockOrigin [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:17 ja_feel From Snacks to SaaS, and lessons I've learned along the way

Hey Entrepreneur!
I wanted to share the story of the past year and a half of my life - a tale of challenges, tech innovation, and a whole lot of snacks. This isn’t just about launching a product; it’s about solving a big problem that inspired an entire platform.
TL;DR: My buddy and I sold our previous snack subscription box company and made a cool thing

The Seeds of Discontent

At our previous company, my buddy Mike and I saw how powerful influencer marketing could be. Our business, delivering international snacks to doorsteps, was perfect for social media. But managing these influencer partnerships was a huge headache.
Each new campaign started with excitement but quickly became overwhelming. We dealt with many social media platforms, each with its own rules and metrics. Keeping track of everything felt like trying to solve a puzzle with pieces that kept changing. The tools we used were basic. They helped us send products and payments but didn’t offer much for managing or understanding the big picture.
Tracking our campaign performance was a real pain. With just a small team running our marketing, we were juggling hundreds of influencers at the same time. It was hard to keep an eye on everyone and make quick decisions. Plus, the data we got was often late and messy, making things even more frustrating.
This constant struggle showed us a big gap in our toolkit. We needed a solution that could make managing influencers easier and give us useful insights, something as dynamic and global as our product. This ongoing frustration planted the seeds for what would eventually become our new company.

Market Research: Finding the Pain Points

After selling our previous business, Mike and I took a six-month break. We explored different ideas, from unique apps to a Castle Crashers style game. But our experience working with creators kept pulling us back to marketing. We knew the challenges of influencer marketing needed to be addressed.
We talked to our network in the e-commerce space to see if they had similar problems. The feedback was eye-opening. Many businesses struggled with existing tools, which mostly acted as simple marketplaces, where interactions were brief and not very deep.
Even worse, the few ambassador tools available were expensive and limited. When I searched for an ambassador software tool that worked across all social networks, the options I found required scheduling demos days in advance. They often lacked direct API connections and supported only a few major social media networks. The starting prices were high, often around $5k per month, with costs going up as the program expanded.
This research not only validated our experiences but also showed us a strategic need for our own tool. We realized we needed a solution not just to fill the current gap but also as a key part of our marketing stack for future businesses. We were determined to build something that wouldn’t force us—or anyone else—to pay a crazy amount for effective influencer marketing.

Designing the Dream: Our New Business’ Blueprint

With a clear vision from our frustrations and market research, we set out to create our new business. Our goal was to build a comprehensive tool that would change influencer marketing. Here’s what we focused on:
Each feature of our tool we were creating was designed to address specific pain points we identified. Our goal was to offer a tool that was powerful, efficient, adaptable, and enjoyable for both brands and their ambassador partners.

Launching Our New Business: Embracing User Feedback

After about 18 months of design and development, we started the soft launch of our new business on May 1st. Opting for a soft launch allowed us to focus on real-time feedback and fine-tuning over making a big initial splash. This approach is crucial - not just for introducing our product but for understanding how it fits into the real world, where actual users rely on it.

Initial Rollout and Testing

Our launch a couple of weeks ago marked the start of our public journey. We released our new tool we created with ambassador apps on the App Store and Google Play, and opened our web-based company portal for business use. This phase is not about mass marketing but about engaging with our professional network and early adopters testing everything in real-world conditions. This includes real companies and creators, ensuring our platform is robust and responsive.

Iterative Feedback Integration

Feedback from these early stages is invaluable. We have set up multiple channels to communicate with our initial users to ensure they feel supported and heard. This ongoing dialogue is critical as it helps us identify and implement necessary adjustments quickly. Each piece of feedback is a step towards improving functionality and user experience.

Continued Development Based on Early Insights

Since we are still in the soft launch phase, our focus remains on refining the platform. A recent development was adding the Creator Hub and Company Center about a month ago—enhancements from recognizing limitations in our initial setup.
Creator Hub: The Creator Hub allows businesses to manage their ambassador relationships dynamically. Companies can discover and invite creators who match their interests and campaign goals, ensuring more personalized and effective collaborations.
Company Center: This feature allows creators to independently discover and apply to various ambassador programs, giving them the freedom to engage with brands that align with their interests.
These features aim to make the connection between companies and creators as seamless and beneficial as possible, accommodating a wide range of marketing strategies and campaign sizes.

How The Tool We Created Works: Streamlining Influencer Marketing

Our tool is designed to simplify and enhance the influencer marketing process for both companies and creators. Here’s a step-by-step breakdown of how our platform works:
  1. Signup and Integration
- Companies can quickly create customizable signup forms. They can also invite new ambassadors directly from the Creator Hub that match their interests. This flexibility helps integrate Social Strudel into existing marketing workflows.
2. Ambassador Onboarding
- Creators apply to become ambassadors, download the Social Strudel app, and connect their social media accounts. This ensures that once approved, creators can start engaging with brand campaigns promptly.
3. Application Review
- Companies get notifications of new applicants and can approve or decline them based on their fit and relevance to marketing goals. This step ensures only the best ambassadors represent the brand.
4. Targeted Segmentation
- Companies can segment ambassadors into groups, allowing them to tailor activities and communications. This supports targeted marketing strategies and more personalized engagement.
5. Activity Management
- Companies set up new activities on various social platforms for ambassadors. Examples include:
- These are just examples, and activities can be tailored to fit different platforms and goals.
6. Real-Time Notifications
- Creators get notifications about new activities through push notifications and email. They can browse the app for available activities, ensuring they never miss an opportunity.
7. Submission and Verification
- Creators submit proof of activity completion directly through the app. This makes managing submissions easy and organized for companies.
8. Activity Approval
- Companies review submitted activities, approving or declining them based on quality and alignment with campaign objectives. This maintains high standards and ensures effectiveness.
9. Rewards and Motivation
- Upon approval, creators earn points, which can be redeemed for various rewards. This system motivates creators to produce high-quality content and stay engaged.
10. Custom Rewards Creation
11. Reward Notifications and Redemption
12. Reward Distribution Management

Looking Forward: The Road Ahead for Us

As we continue with our new business, we are committed to not just meeting but exceeding the evolving needs of digital marketing. We’ve only just begun to tap into our platform’s potential, and our roadmap is geared towards enhancing our service and expanding our reach.

Enhanced Integration Capabilities

We aim to expand our platform’s integration capabilities, adding support for social networks like WhatsApp, Discord, Telegram, and Quora, and adapting to new emerging platforms like the anticipated Vine 2. By covering more platforms, we provide our users with tools to engage with audiences everywhere online.

Advanced Analytics and AI Implementation

Understanding the crucial role of data, we plan to enhance our analytics engine with advanced metrics and predictive analytics. By integrating AI, we aim to give users insights that reflect current trends and anticipate future behaviors.

Continued Focus on User Experience

User feedback is key and remains a cornerstone of our development. We are committed to refining the user experience based on real usage and feedback. This includes enhancing our mobile apps and ensuring the Creator Hub and Company Center are intuitive and robust. Both are still in early stages, and we are actively working to improve these features.

Expanding Educational Resources

To help users fully leverage the tool we created, we plan to expand our educational resources. This includes tutorials, best practice guides, and case studies for new users, and advanced content for experienced marketers to refine their strategies.

Final Reflections

If you've stuck with me this long through our story, thank you! Reflecting on this journey, it’s clear that every challenge and setback helped shape our vision and refine our approach. From the initial frustrations to the detailed market research, every step has been a learning experience. We're excited about the future and committed to improving our platform constantly to meet the evolving needs of our users and potential users. If you have any questions or feedback at all, I’d love to hear it! Your insights and support mean a lot as my partner and I continue to grow and innovate.
EDIT: Formatting
submitted by ja_feel to Entrepreneur [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:11 Inorai [Menagerie of Dreams] Ch. 18: Your Customer Service Sucks pt 1

[Menagerie of Dreams] Ch. 18: Your Customer Service Sucks pt 1
https://preview.redd.it/z7xbdxeniu0d1.jpg?width=1024&format=pjpg&auto=webp&s=d3a4b6ffa80a972f422be4809ce3e721f5b9e7c6
Cover Art First Chapter Playlist Character sheets
The Story:
Keeping her store on Earth was supposed to keep her out of trouble, but when a human walks through her wards like they weren't there, Aloe finds herself with a mystery on her hands. Unfortunately for the human, her people love mysteries - and if she doesn't intervene, no one will. With old enemies sniffing around after her new charge, the clock is ticking to find their answers.
Hey, Miss Kanna.
Aloe showed me how to do this letterbox thing a little bit ago. Hopefully this gets to you. Otherwise, I mean, I guess you’ll never read this?
Rowen grimaced down at the page. Get to the point. Stop faffing about.
Anyway. We’ve been traveling, so I didn’t get a chance to write earlier. Thanks for all your help with the magic kit stuff, again. We still haven’t found an actual answer. We found out I can open the Heartgates, though. That seems pretty big. Just going to assume you know about all that stuff. Aloe doesn’t think it’ll be enough, but
He hesitated, pen hovering over the page. Was he just being naive? He didn’t doubt that Aloe was right, it just…seemed cruel. Surely the whole world couldn’t operate like that.
but I don’t know. It feels like it’d be pretty hard to wave something like that off? Are the Children of Ora or whatever really that single-minded about themselves?
We’re in Emerald Hills now, with that Lord Dilmat guy Aloe knows. If I can be honest a sec? I really don’t know how much I buy that he’ll help me. The lord guy seemed pretty disinterested once Aloe said he couldn’t keep me. Is staying here really a good idea? I do trust Aloe, but I don’t know. I don’t have that much time left. This feels like a gamble.
Not much time at all, now that they’d blown a few days traveling and getting set up. His all-too-short deadline was staring him down every time he closed his eyes. Could he really risk hanging around with some dude who visibly didn’t give even a single shit?
But what else could he do?
I guess it’s whatever, he wrote, shaking his head. I’m going to try and work the shop a little more. People here seem to speak English, but it’s not their go-to. It’s getting a little weird. They keep giving me looks. I need to find some sort of language textbook for Ereliit, but I’m a little worried. If there’s never been a human with magic before, you guys have probably never tried to teach a human before either. Right? So do I even have a chance in hell of learning? Would there even be anything in English?
He took a long, shaky breath. Just a worry. Do you have any ideas? I just don’t know what’s out there. But I’d like to try learning.
There. He’d talked about where they were, and he’d talked about Eswit, and he’d talked about his language battles. That just left…
His lips tightened. That just left the bit he really, really didn’t want to get into. But there was no getting around it.
I’m worried about Aloe. When we were heading into the Deeproads she started having this weird…attack. Glowy eyes, spouting nonsense, wouldn’t respond. She told me it’s because of her magic poisoning her, and she said it was a one-off thing from some kind of magic shock from coming back down here, but then it happened again last night.
She’s fine. I don’t mean to scare you or anything. She’s got that nightsbane stuff, and now that I know this is going to keep happening I can try and watch for it more. Or something like that. But she’s always a bit weird after she takes those potions. I just don’t really know what to do with all this. I just want someone else to know. Getting a little nervous.
Rowen took a shaky breath, closing his eyes for a moment. He hated tattling on her. If he was sick, the last thing he’d want was his friends spreading it around. But…someone needed to know. Someone that wasn’t him. What if last night happened again? What if she fell into another trance like at the aviary and he couldn’t wake her up?
No. Kanna needed to know.
The floor creaked overhead. “Rowen?” Aloe called. “Are you up?”
“I’m down here,” Rowen called back. Well. She was up early. The sky outside was still dark. He’d figured he had at least another half hour before she wandered out.
Quickly, he turned back to the paper laid out on the counter.
I’ve got to go. Aloe’s up and around, and I’ve got to get back to Emerald Hills for more testing. Lucky me. Fingers crossed they actually tell me something useful this time. It wouldn’t be down to luck. This time he’d make them listen. Thanks for listening, Kanna. Hopefully you actually get this.
He stood as the hallway above started to creak, hastily folding the letter up. She’d pointed everything out to him and run through a quick explanation. He just had to take this stamp, marked with a hastily-applied KANNA label, smack it onto the paper, and then put it in that wooden box. Close the lid, and-
Rowen jerked back as a flash of light erupted from beneath the so-recently-closed lid. Slowly he lifted the edge back up.
The box was empty.
“W-Well, that was easy,” Rowen said, grinning. Either the letter was on its way to Kanna, or he’d found a new handy-dandy trash can. All he could do was trust it was the former.
As he put the stamp back into the rack, though, his hand lingered on the wood.
He’d carried Aloe back to her room last night, was all. She’d been utterly passed out, and he wasn’t so frigid as to leave her out in the cold by herself. He’d felt weird about barging into her room unasked, yeah, but…well, he just hadn’t been able to come up with an alternative. She certainly wasn’t about to wake up.
Her bed had been rock-hard. He could remember it clearly, like someone had taken wooden planks and covered them in a few layers of comforter. He’d almost felt bad putting her down on it and walking away. Even the thought of it gave him a sore back.
As he’d turned, he’d caught a glimpse of a writing desk in her otherwise-barren room. There’d been a violin on it. And…a stamp, just like this. There hadn’t been a handy English label, so…he didn’t have a clue who it’d send a letter to. But there alongside it had been a pile of crumpled-up letters.
Someone Aloe wanted to write to, then—but couldn’t? But who? It would’ve been absurdly rude to pry further, so he’d just…walked away.
And now he found himself oddly curious.
The stairs creaked. Rowen glanced up, then gave a quick wave when he saw Aloe descending. “Morning. You’re up early.”
“Couldn’t sleep for shit,” Aloe mumbled. “Are you off?”
“Yeah.” Rowen grimaced. “Eswit wants me back bright and early. I’ve got to keep him happy for now.”
“Good kid.” Aloe gave him a quick smile, patting his shoulder as she passed. “Just stick with it. We’ll figure this out, I promise.”
He was sure she wanted them to figure this out. She might even believe that they’d do it. But belief in a thing didn’t make it reality. He needed to keep pushing. This was no time to sit back and take things easy. He smiled back, nodding, and stood. “I’m off, then.”
“Be safe,” Aloe murmured as he strode by.
He just kept walking, head held as high as he could, until he was out of the Dragon and alone again.
—--------------------
Aloe turned on her heel, giving the floor a long look. The sun was up and Rowen was off. The scholars would be able to help him. The question was, how fast? Would they be able to make a breakthrough soon?
She tried to keep her mind from scrolling through the calendar left to them. It wasn’t enough for them to solve Rowen’s mystery by the deadline—if they didn’t get back to Windscour in time to declare their progress to Envoy Jaian, she’d run a real risk of getting herself in trouble with the crown. She could defend herself, but…she didn’t want to give them any excuse to declare the deal null and void.
Which meant she really, really needed Eswit to get to work, fast.
Sighing, she straightened. A trilling whistle slipped from her lips. All around the Dragon, candles ignited, turning the morning glow into a comfortable brightness. The shutters on the front windows flew open, and through them, she saw the sign out front drop into place.
Well, they were open for business. Overhead, the sunbirds raised their heads, starting to trill amongst themselves.
“Don’t make yourselves trouble,” she said, giving the big guy at the group’s center a warning look and a pointed finger.
He only chirped at her, hopping to the side. She heard one of the eaves windows creak open, followed by the flapping of wings. Several of the others followed suit, vanishing into the outside world.
“Fine,” Aloe muttered, shaking her head. “Come back in time for dinner or you’re not getting any.” It didn’t worry her too much. Most of the dens had access to an exit if they wanted it, and all of them knew the signal for when she was packing up. There shouldn’t be too much danger toward them in a deeproads town like this.
She was just reaching her chair behind the counter when the door swung open again. “Forget something?” she said, turning back.
Her eyes widened at the sight of a woman striding through, short and sturdy with thick, curly red hair and a wide-brimmed hat whose colors had been bleached with too many hours in the sunlight. Pouches ringed the belt on her waist, hanging down almost to her knees.
“Pardon me,” the new woman said, her voice gruff. “Had a lad all but pounding down my door ‘bout some new shop in town.” She leaned her head back, fixing a look on Aloe from beneath the brim of her hat, and grinned. “Thinkin’ it’s ‘round the time I should see the place for myself.”
Just as she’d thought, then—this was Lanioch’s apothecary. Exactly the sort who might be interested in the goods she sold. Aloe smiled right back, bowing with careful, deliberate respect.
“Madam Healer, I believe I have exactly what you need,” she said. “Whatever that is.”
“We’ll see about that,” the apothecary said, turning toward the Dragon’s shelves with a brisk step.
Aloe’s grin only widened. She wasn’t put off by the woman’s air and attitude, no. She’d expected this. The bargaining was the best part—and out of everyone in the town, this was likely to be her primary customer.
The game had just begun.
—--------------------
It was early enough in the morning for there to still be dew on the grass when he crossed over into Emerald Hills, but the lab was already bustling. The secretary Aloe had talked to before perked up at the sight of him, beckoning him over. She didn’t try to speak to him, though. Maybe she was too busy. Maybe he was just the human and didn’t rate a little morning chitchat. Hell, maybe she didn’t even speak English.
He let her usher him into the same lab room he’d been in before. It was just like he remembered it—but this time, there’d been a huge magic circle like something out of Fullmetal Alchemist scrawled all over the floor. There were tiny detailed elements throughout it that looked like someone had painted in with a tiny, hair-thin brush. “Paint, hopefully,” he whispered, giving the thing a contemplative tap with his foot as the secretary walked across the room atop it. If he messed up all their hard work they just might kill him after all.
The circle didn’t budge. With one last shrug, Rowen steeled himself and followed after.
Note-Taker and Box-Holder were there, he saw with a grimace. Both lit up at the sight of him—but as they hurried toward him, he saw Note-Taker pull something from his pocket. A vial, filled with clear liquid.
“No,” Rowen said, taking a step back as the pair charged him. The rest of the researchers scattered around the lab looked up at the firmness in his voice, but he refused to let himself back down. “I’m not going to drug myself. It’s not necessary.”
“You must hold still,” Note-Taker said. “It will…” He scowled, chewing on his lips. “Difficult,” he said at last—and held the vial out again. “Take.”
“I’ll hold still,” Rowen said, shoving his hands resolutely in the pockets of his jeans. God, he felt out of place here dressed like a normal person when they were all wearing their fantasy getups. “I’m not taking it.”
Note-Taker grimaced. He glanced to Box-holder, who shrugged.
Rowen stiffened as the two started talking in Ereliit. “And you can’t keep everything secret from me this time,” he said. “You have to tell me what you’re figuring out about me. That was the deal.”
The two erelin men looked back to him, and now the disdain in Note-Taker’s expression was clear. “No time,” he said. “We will handle. Sit.”
“Yes, there damn well is time,” Rowen snapped. “Look, you’ve got two choices here. You can either tell me what you’re learning or I’m not going to cooperate. Okay?”
He watched Note-Taker’s nostrils flare. The man was positively glaring down the length of his nose at Rowen now. “You are not-”
“We had a deal,” Rowen said. “With your boss. D’you think that Lord Eswit guy is going to like it if you drive me and Aloe away?” He jerked his chin higher, matching the asshole glare for glare. “All I’m asking is for you to talk to me.”
Box-Holder muttered something under his breath, still in that stupid language of theirs. But before Rowen could launch into them again, Note-Taker let out a groan. “Agreed,” he said, sounding like he didn’t agree at all.
He’d at least said the word, though. And he did still need their help to get some answers. So Rowen just nodded, letting the two men guide him to the center of the magic circle, and steeled himself for what came next.
—--------------
By the end of it, Rowen understood why Note-Taker had wanted to drug him.
He didn’t have a clue what they were doing. He’d tried to watch and pay attention, but there was only so much he could do. He was plunked down cross-legged at the very center of the whole arrangement, with Eswit’s mages around the outer ring with their wands and staves. Every time they raised their implements, the circle under his ass started to glow with a frankly-worrying intensity.
And then the deluge would begin. Fireballs. Lightning bolts. Whirlwinds that whipped around him and blew his hair all astray. Bits of free energy, and shrieking rips of pure noise, and gouts of water that drenched his sweatshirt. He tried to stay still through all of it, gripping the insides of his sweatshirt pocket and closing his eyes against the worst of the onslaught. He’d promised Note-Taker he could manage.
But Christ it was hard. Sweat drenched his undershirt, and however strong his resolve had been at the start, he was mortified to find he was starting to shake a little.
All of the fear vanished when, with one last crackle of energy, the latest barrage faded—and the mages all turned away from him. “Is that it?” Rowen whispered.
Note-Taker was in the back of the room, scrawling away madly on a clipboard. The other mages were starting to encircle him, Rowen saw. And they looked excited. Bingo.
Legs still quivering beneath him, Rowen stood, banging his fists into his thighs until the tingling went away. “What is it? What did you find?”
The scholar closest to him glanced over, but turned back to the others just as quickly. None of the rest even bothered to look.
Note-Taker was beaming, though, and Box-Holder’s eyes damn near sparkled. Rowen’s anger deepened. They’d found something.
“Hey,” he snapped, striding closer. “What’d you-”
Note-Taker raised a hand, gesturing dismissively in his direction. A pair of the scholars turned, moving to block his way, but Rowen had expected that. Darting to the side, he ducked between a pair of Orran women—and snatched the clipboard out of Note-Taker’s hands.
You’d think the guy had never been bullied in school. He was slow to react, hands closing around open air for a second before he lunged. “Fucking-”
“Oh, so you do know some actual words,” Rowen said. He kept backstepping, circling the room until the exit was square behind him. “Look. You told me you’d talk. That’s all I want here.”
Note-Taker’s face contorted with anger. “Give it-”
“No,” Rowen said, holding the clipboard up and away from the Orran’s reach. “Just tell me what you guys found out, and I’ll give it back.”
“You’ll-”
Otherwise,” Rowen said, taking another step backward, “I’m going to take this back to Aloe to see what it says. And I won’t be coming back tomorrow.”
He waited, counting the seconds. The scholars had all frozen somewhere in the middle of his escapade, glancing at each other with worried eyes.
This was all a risk. He knew that. He needed these guys as much as they needed him—but maybe a little reminder that he could just pick up and go if they refused to play ball would do the trick. So he waited, eyes glued to Note-Taker’s face and nerves twitching for the slightest sign of counterattack.
Finally, the man scowled, letting out an irritated grunt. “Testing passive resonance,” he said gruffly.
“And?” Rowen said. “What’d you find?”
“Response value of five,” Note-Taker said. He spat the words out, then thrust his hand toward Rowen. “Give.”
“What’s that mean?” Rowen said. “Passive resonance. What is that? And what’s it mean that-”
“Did not promise tutoring,” the man hissed. He jabbed his hand forward again. “Give.
“Okay,” Rowen said. “Fine.” He’d gotten the important bits. Passive resonance, and it spat back a five. Passive resonance, five. Passive resonance, five. As long as he could get that back to Aloe, she’d be able to translate.
He slapped the clipboard down into Note-Taker’s outstretched hand. “Here. That’s all I wanted. Are we done for the day?”
The pair of head researchers glared at him, lips tight, but turned almost immediately back to their own work. One by one heads around the room swiveled away from him.
Guess that was his answer. Rowen shook his head, grumbling a little to himself, but made for the door.
Time to figure out what all the fuss was about.
submitted by Inorai to redditserials [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:09 Easy-Horse-2791 Unsure if I should be an Indie Game Developer as Career or Biologist

TL;DR (18m) I was planning on going to college for game development but I don't think I want a career in that. I just want to do my own thing and hopefully get big. Biology seems cool.
I want to be an independent game developer. I have my own game idea and I'm really passionate about it. I’d make it even if I couldn’t make money off of it. It has a bunch of creatures based on real life biology, it's called speculative evolution. Kinda like Subnautica or James Cameron’s Avatar. Like alien animals and aren’t just monsters. I animate all the characters and creatures and want the game to have a hand drawn style like Hollow Knight.
Due to my interest in video games and digital arts / animation, I applied to an art school with a game design major, within walking distance from my high school. I visited it during my art classes and found the environment inviting. There were nice studio spaces and the students there looked really fun to be around. The Game Design professor was really nice to listen to during the Open House. All these together, alongside transportation issues led me to tunnel vision into this school. When I got the financial aid package, I started rethinking the idea of going. I assumed it would cover most of the cost since my family is low income and I have a lot of siblings. The school seems really nice but I don’t want to have 100K in student loans.
I didn’t apply anywhere else until recently. This year's FAFSA was delayed by a lot which made applying to other schools a bit tricky. I got accepted into a state school which offers more stuff too.
All the game developer layoffs and crunch time stuff, I don’t really think I want to do that. I of course want to make my own game. Like alone, in an apartment or my own little studio space or something. Being able to be a concept artist would be awesome, but it’s like super competitive and there’s also AI image generation. (eww I hate that) It’s scary good now, imagine how good it’ll be in 4 years when I graduate. Working on other people’s games would be cool, I guess. That’s not why I want to learn this stuff. I just want to do my own thing
Also looking at the art college’s class lineup, they don’t have anything not related to art. I like biology, paleontology and other earth sciences because I do lots of worldbuilding. I don’t get bored in stem classes like I imagine a lot of art school students do.
I’ve been thinking about a lot of other careers.
Dental Hygienists seem to make a lot of dollars without flexible hours, but I’ve also heard they have wrist pain which would make it really hard to draw.
Software Engineering is alright. Like I can tolerate it, but without the lens of video games, I don’t really care for it. The coding part of video games is not my spark, it’s more the artistic creative side. Also I hear that’s like the most overcrowded major everywhere. I know people who love coding like how I love paleontology, just researching it for fun.
Being a TV show animator seems really similar to being in a game developer studio. I also think I’d have to move to California or something. I don’t really want to move that far away.
Architecture seems kinda cool. I just heard you have to love it because you work overtime a lot and would get paid more for your effort in other fields.
Having some sort of biology job would be really cool. I’m not sure exactly what they do though. Again I saw you have to love it because it’s hard to find a job without a masters degree.
My art teacher is really proud of my work so far and it makes me happy. I will say though, considering something else as a career has made thinking about it so much less stressful. It can just be something cool I do and if it gets big, I don’t have to work anymore. Yahoo. I could also put hobbyist instead of professional in my bio, which looks cooler to me.
Extra:
Working a trade sounds sucky because I’ve helped my friend at his family business at a warehouse once. It was okay but I don’t want to do that for a living. Lifting heavy stuff and getting kinda hurt. No thanks.
Also I’m aware I simplify a bit when talking about competition and stuff. The idea is that entry level jobs would be hard to get and those don’t really pay that well and I don’t want to feel like I wasted a college degree. I could be being dumb about AI image generation but any professional art people can let me know.
You can read about my student loan worries here here
And I can link to my itch.io for my 1 minute game prototypes if anyone is interested. My 2D Platformers with Krita Animations
Anyway what I’m asking for is your thoughts because I’m not knowledgeable here. Anyone with a biology degree, experience in the jobs I listed or whatever else (I don’t know, it’s why I am asking)
submitted by Easy-Horse-2791 to findapath [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 22:00 LedMyPlaceca Shedding Light on the Pros and Cons of LED Vanity Lights !!!

LED vanity lights have become a staple in modern homes and commercial spaces, known for their energy efficiency, bright illumination, and sleek designs. However, like any technology, they have advantages and disadvantages. In this comprehensive, we'll delve into the pros and cons of LED vanity lights, helping you decide whether they are the right choice for your lighting needs.
https://ledmyplace.ca/collections/vanity-lights

Pros of LED Vanity Lights

  1. Energy Efficiency
One of the most significant advantages of LED vanity lights is their energy efficiency. LEDs consume significantly less power compared to traditional incandescent and fluorescent bulbs. They convert a higher percentage of electricity into light, meaning less energy is wasted as heat. This results in lower electricity bills and a reduced carbon footprint, making LED vanity lights an environmentally friendly choice.
  1. Longevity
LED bulbs have an impressive lifespan, often 25,000 to 50,000 hours. This is far longer than traditional lighting options, such as incandescent bulbs, typically lasting around 1,000 hours. The extended lifespan of LEDs means fewer replacements, reducing waste and maintenance costs over time.
  1. Bright and Uniform Illumination
LED vanity lights provide bright and uniform illumination, essential for tasks requiring precision, such as makeup application, shaving, and grooming. Unlike traditional bulbs that can create shadows and uneven lighting, LEDs offer consistent brightness across the entire surface, ensuring every detail is visible.
  1. Customizable Lighting Options
Many LED vanity lights come with adjustable color temperatures and brightness settings, allowing users to customize the lighting to suit their needs. Whether you prefer warm, ambient lighting for relaxation or cool, bright light for detailed tasks, LED vanity lights can be tailored to create the perfect environment.
  1. Eco-Friendly
LED lights are free from hazardous materials such as mercury, commonly found in fluorescent bulbs. This makes LEDs a safer and more eco-friendly option. Additionally, their energy efficiency and long lifespan contribute to a reduction in overall environmental impact.
  1. Versatile Design Options
LED vanity lights are available in a wide range of designs, shapes, and sizes, making it easy to find a style that complements your decor. From minimalist frameless mirrors to ornate backlit designs, LED vanity lights can enhance the aesthetic appeal of any space.
  1. Instant Lighting
Unlike traditional lighting options that take a few moments to reach full brightness, LED vanity lights provide instant illumination. This is particularly beneficial in areas where immediate lighting is needed, such as bathrooms and dressing rooms.
  1. Low Heat Emission
LEDs emit very little heat compared to incandescent and halogen bulbs. This makes them safer to use, especially near flammable materials but also helps keep the surrounding area cooler, which can be particularly advantageous in small or enclosed spaces.

Cons of LED Vanity Lights

  1. Initial Cost
One of the main drawbacks of LED vanity lights is the initial cost. LED bulbs and fixtures are more expensive upfront than traditional lighting options. However, the long-term savings on energy bills and replacement costs can offset the initial investment over time.
  1. Dimming Compatibility
While many LED vanity lights come with dimmable options, not all LED bulbs are compatible with existing dimmer switches. If the bulbs are not paired with compatible dimmers, this can result in flickering or inconsistent lighting, which may require additional investment in new dimmer switches designed for LED compatibility.
  1. Light Quality Variation
Although LED technology has advanced significantly, there can still be variations in light quality between different LED products. Some LEDs may produce a cooler, harsher light that can be unflattering for makeup application or create an undesirable atmosphere. Choosing high-quality LEDs with the desired color temperature and CRI (Color Rendering Index) is essential for the best results.
  1. Potential for Glare
The bright and intense light produced by some LED vanity lights can cause glare, particularly if the lights are not diffused or positioned correctly. This can be uncomfortable for the eyes and may require additional accessories, such as diffusers or frosted covers, to soften the light.
  1. Disposal Concerns
While LEDs are free from hazardous materials like mercury, they contain electronic components that must be disposed of properly. Improper disposal of LED bulbs can contribute to electronic waste. Following local guidelines for recycling and disposing of LED lighting products is important to minimize environmental impact.
  1. Sensitivity to Temperature
LEDs can be sensitive to extreme temperatures, affecting their performance and lifespan. LED bulbs may not operate as efficiently or experience reduced longevity in environments with very high or low temperatures. It's important to choose LEDs rated for the specific temperature range of the installation location.
  1. Limited Light Spread
Some LED vanity lights may have a more directional light spread compared to traditional bulbs, which can result in less overall coverage. This can be a disadvantage in larger spaces or when uniform lighting is needed across a wide area. Multiple LED fixtures or strategically placed lights may be required to mitigate this.

Conclusion

LED vanity lights offer many benefits, including energy efficiency, longevity, bright and uniform illumination, and customizable lighting options. They are eco-friendly and versatile, making them popular for modern homes and commercial spaces. However, it's essential to consider the initial cost, dimming compatibility, light quality variation, potential for glare, disposal concerns, temperature sensitivity, and light spread limitations when deciding if LED vanity lights are the right choice for your needs.
By weighing the pros and cons, you can make an informed decision that aligns with your aesthetic preferences, functional requirements, and environmental values. As LED technology advances, the future of vanity lighting looks bright, promising even more innovative and efficient solutions to illuminate our lives.
submitted by LedMyPlaceca to u/LedMyPlaceca [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:45 BucketMaster69 Reconciling astronomical observations and astrological magic systems

Howdy there,
So I've been using the stellarium app to look at all the celestial bodies and explore the stars a bit and how they move through the sky
I went to my birthdate and looked at the stars when I was born, and realized they were different from what my natal chart says. I know I've heard that some of astrology is off because it hasn't been updated in a few centuries, but I didn't realize it was this drastic. Like when I was born my sun sign is literally in the sky in a different constellation.
And that's fine for staying within the system of astrology or whatever, I think it can exist without having to conform to reality in that way, but what if I'm trying to do something like picatrix style magic where I'm making a talisman for a certain astrological thing, do I use what the sky literally is, or however they determine it with what most people use (and how do the natal charts and astrology pages determine things anyways, are they just using a different formula made hundreds of years ago)?
Like if I wanted to do an invocation of a planet, and not use the planetary hour and day system, old resources say to wait until the planet is at it's highest point. I wouldn't use some formula that says it should actually be done at night or whatever if I'm doing an invocation of the sun.
How do modern people reconcile this? Would love to hear how people work around/ with it.
submitted by BucketMaster69 to AskAstrologers [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:43 ipapaveri Almost returned this case, but so glad I didn't! It's perfect for me

Almost returned this case, but so glad I didn't! It's perfect for me
Appreciation post:
This is my first experience with using a Hobonichi Weeks, and I love it! I am trying to get in the habit of using a paper planner and recording my day-to-day plans, accomplishments, to-dos, etc., and I needed as barebones a planner as possible, while still being nice to hold & use, with grid paper & good quality paper at that. Also, one where the dates are already included, because at this stage in the game, if I had to also add in the dates & days, I’d stop before I got started. And I love the extra pages at the back!! So good for book TBR lists, some commonplacing, etc.
I’m so glad I chose the Weeks, and that it is exactly the planner I need right now (I'm already setting aside funds to buy the Weeks Mega for 2025).
As for this cover — the pen loop almost caused me to send it back — until I realized that I could “pin” the pen to it using the pen clip! Such a revelation, I tell you 😂 Anyway, the pockets are just right and the zip means nothing will get lost or fall out, so I am delighted ☺️
(Stickers are from Sarica Studio)
submitted by ipapaveri to hobonichi [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:35 ScrapDragon2 What type of glasses frame does Futaba Sakura use?

It's hard to really pinpoint down an accurate shape or style of her glasses. I'm still slowly working on a cosplay for her, and I'm aiming to see about getting a pair of (preferrably cheap) sunglasses to match up to hers.
But not being a glasses aficionado myself, I honestly can't tell what type she uses. Her wiki page doesn't say much, and it states she wears a green set when her official artworks show more black/dark gray than green.
https://static.wikia.nocookie.net/megamitensei/images/7/73/P5A_Futaba_Sakura_Concept_Art_1.png/revision/latest?cb=20180325222339
https://static.wikia.nocookie.net/megamitensei/images/6/62/Futaba_Sakura.png/revision/latest?cb=20230219085927
Sometimes they look square-ish, sometimes circular... It's difficult to say, really.
As for why \specifically** sunglasses, I have a sensitivity to light. Being out and about, even in building with certain light types/levels, I keep them on to stop me from being blinded.
If need be, I'll go with a set of regular glasses that use plastic lenses (or regular glass, as I don't need glasses to see/read like many other folks) and try to find flip down sun lenses. ...Where ever I'd find those.
submitted by ScrapDragon2 to CosplayHelp [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:34 StarDragon88 Pass a bad time [05/17 00:00 UTC/Midnight]

Picks: 30 minutes prior, 2 pre-selected Brown and Sticky and Stryker Ex: Human Revolution
Duration: 5 hours roughly. May be more.
Players: 3-4
Communication: Roll20 and Discord
Metaplot: N/A
Game Topic: Crime and Shadows
Threat: High or Deadly.
Game Tone: Mirrorshades
GM Style Sheet: I do my best!
Location: New Orleans, CAS
Connecting ShadowHaven VPN . . . Matrix Access ID Spoofed . . . Encryption Keys Generated . . . Connected to Onion Routers . . . Redirected to ShadowHaven Forum . . . Enter Passcode . . . Password Confirmed. Enter Biometrics . . . Biometric Scan Confirmed. Connected to Node: ShadowHaven_BBS. Welcome back to ShadowHaven, omae. 
Connecting to Guest Node. . . Welcome to ShadowHaven 1 Posting Found. . . Opening Job Posting . . .
"Not um... not exactly familar with this whole Johnson thing. All I know is Shadowhaven is cream of the crop and thats what I need. I'll even pay for the flight just... just get over here."
Please respond with:
submitted by StarDragon88 to ShadowHaven [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:28 Prior-Feeling22 site collection of browser games [fully lost]

hello everyone. in 2010-2015, there was a website entirely dedicated to browser games on flash and unity.
I remember exactly that the name of the site begins with the letter "e" and consists of 2-5 letters, the domain org or com
the icon of the site was depicted (purple?) A round one-eyed monster with horns that smiled, arms and legs missing. It was drawn in a cartoon/hyper realistic style
I remember for sure that there was a tape with new and popular games, among which was crush drive
the main page of the site was predominantly (purple?) colour
The site was like a social network with comments and ratings
the site was entirely in English
due to the fact that I can't remember the name exactly, I can't make sure if this site exists at the moment.
as far as I remember, this site was in a YouTube video, which I can't find either
Thank you all for your attention
submitted by Prior-Feeling22 to lostmedia [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:28 Independent_Rough_69 Do we know about this? The MOASS killer law???

Tldr this can kill moass, we have to comment now!
SR-OCC-2024-007
Need more attention on the rules proposed by the NSCC/OCC to the SEC
We need more attention and DD posted about the new rules the NSCC and OCC (The options Clearing Corporation) have been proposing to the SEC last couple months. Mainly because they have been pulling alot of bullshit like redacting whole pages from the public’s view of these rules couple months ago to completely removing the ability to view/posting comments on the SEC’s website last week so you know they are on some BS.
-The OCC is the Options Clearing Corporation that delivers clearing and settlement services for options, futures and securities lending transactions to exchanges and trading platforms.
———————————————————————
The main rules I’m referring to are as Follow:
———————————————————————
The main concerns with these rules and things that need to be looked in to are as follow-
*Lack of transparency to the public/retail investors vs Market Makers, hedge funds and other institutions
*A major decrease of margin requirements for institutions, rule 007 even says something about OCC being able to decrease the required collateral for a party in one scenario from $300 Billion to $6 Billion if they used the new proposed rule of using NSCC for settlements instead of outside parties (brokers), stinks like some BS kicking the can pile of shit to me covered in words like “more efficient markets.” Look at page 5 of rule “007” for reference.
*Bail outs
*Avoiding Margin Calls if the OCC thinks it was a “mechanical/systematical issue or error.”
*(Rule NSCC-2023-007) Without NSCC, there's no netting for OCC & in January 2022, the largest gross broker-to-broker settlement amount in the case of a larger Clearing Member default would have resulted in liquidity needs of approximately $384,635,833,942 from OCC. ($384 BILLION) -Anybody know who almost defaulted? I don’t remember anything happening in Jan 2022 except crypto going down. Maybe they “accidentally” put 2022 instead of 2021?
———————————————————————
This discussion is not covering the T+1 change that is also proposed in the rules, which I personally think would be good for both retail and the big players. But feel free to comment on that as well if you wish.
———————————————————————
Links to proposed rules-
(007) https://www.sec.gov/files/rules/sro/occ/2024/34-99735_0.pdf
(001) https://public-inspection.federalregister.gov/2024-01386.pdf
(002) https://www.theocc.com/getmedia/88a24549-3a86-458f-9231-d0b072608c63/SR-OCC-2024-002.pdf
(003) https://www.theocc.com/getmedia/99490271-394d-4bab-ba33-d27f33cdef6e/sr_occ_2024_003.pdf
(004) https://www.theocc.com/getmedia/11b35eef-2020-4dfc-af8f-25ae41acdc91/sr-occ-2024-004.pdf
Copy pasta from, gme https://www.reddit.com/Superstonk/s/fcevpRZjVS
submitted by Independent_Rough_69 to GME [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:25 InfiniteLine_Author One month recap!

One month recap!
NPC Academy has now been on Royal Road for a full month, so I thought I'd share my experience and what I've learned so far.
WHAT I DID:
I launched with a backlog of 20 chapters, posting 9 intermittently on day 1 to reach 20k words. Then I posted one new chapter per weekday for the first 3 weeks. This obliterated my backlog, but I wanted to make sure I had enough content that people would actually consider it worth their time to click on the story.
Since then, I've been posting 2 chapters per week. I was afraid I'd lose followers when I transitioned from 5 down to 2 a week, but luckily most everyone has stuck around.
I did 7 review swaps in the first few weeks, but was informed that review swaps supposedly don't go into the Rising Stars algorithm. One thing I did enjoy doing as part of review swaps was also exchanging chapter-by-chapter comment swaps. Sometimes comment sections on RR can be pretty barren so it was fun to actually see what people are thinking as they read. Highly recommended! I also discovered some really interesting stories, which is a nice bonus.
I switched to shout out swaps a few weeks ago and I think that's what actually started to boost my follower count. I've had 10-12 people shout out my story in their pre/post author comment sections (including a story with >5k followers). I ran an ad in parallel, so it's difficult to know exactly where followers are coming from. But I definitely got a good number of story page views from the shout outs from looking at the advanced analytics (usually 5-40 unique user clicks per shout, but almost 200 from that high follower story).
I did a few self-promo posts on litrpg and progressionfantasy as well, which can often be met with some negativity and downvotes. I saw a few clicks from those as well, so I still think they were worth doing, especially because early on even one more set of eyes on the story makes a difference--if only to your self-esteem. I imagine reddit promos might be more impactful once more chapters, followers, and community are built up though.
RESULTS AFTER ONE MONTH:
NPC Academy hit the main Rising Stars list exactly one month (yesterday morning) after posting the first chapter! Here are the current stats:
https://preview.redd.it/crrtptjo4u0d1.png?width=906&format=png&auto=webp&s=7abe323b25358ec7bea3d030edfa10972ac6e47a
It's definitely not as impressive as many of the launches I've seen, and it's been a slow grind of followers that started steadily climbing thanks to shout outs and ads. But it's been enough to make an appearance on Rising Stars, so I'm proud of that.
https://preview.redd.it/kvni76b75u0d1.png?width=2072&format=png&auto=webp&s=5c6cd1055a74b96608dbe8150e7802c248ed4ee6
I also got pretty good reader retention (>90% per chapter) outside of the first few chapters, and especially after Chapter 8, which tells me that people who are enjoying the story are sticking with it. :)
WHAT I LEARNED:
I tried to follow the guide posted by HiImThinkTwice as best I could, but definitely missed some beats and could've done better.
I launched with a self-made cover. I'm very amateur in terms of digital art and design. I made the mistake of thinking a unique, somewhat cutesy cover would work. Spoiler: it doesn't. I wholeheartedly believe my original cover hurt my ability to get people to click on the story. I had a low-cost cover commissioned and updated it at the beginning of May (also when my follower count started rising). Your best bet with a cover is to fit within the common reader expectations, while having some element that stands out--look at the Rising Stars list and see what kinds of covers people are clicking on.
I also revised my blurb several times throughout this process. I thought the draw to my novel would be the idea of NPCs going to school to learn how to battle Heroes, but I think the real interest is the MCs journey. It's also important to have some sort of epic-sounding, standout line(s) in the blurb, which I didn't have originally. These are what get people excited to actually click on Chapter 1. I think I've finally settled on something that works well and I'm happy with.
Shoutout swaps are a lot more valuable than review swaps in terms of story clicks and potential new followers.
No idea if my ad led to followers, but it definitely generated a significant number of clicks. I expect a lot of the non-follower readers who have stuck with the story came from ads.
I started posting about halfway through the Writathon as a non-participant. Would not recommend. No idea if it hurt my story, but presumably more stories are being posted at a higher rate than normal, so your story won't stick in the latest updates list as long. It may not have hurt, but it certainly didn't help because I didn't get to be on the Writathon list. If I could do it again, I'd have waited to build up more backlog and launched in May instead.
TAKEAWAYS:
Don't underestimate the importance of the cover and blurb.
Do shoutouts. In general people are very friendly and happy to swap--especially if you can get on some discord servers.
Keep writing and don't give up, even if the follower count isn't rocketing up! Give it time and help readers find your story.
Good luck to all you writers out there!
submitted by InfiniteLine_Author to royalroad [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:19 Commercial-Recipe-90 E-account Bank of Khartoum 00249111196617

Opening a Bank of Khartoum Account Online: A Comprehensive Guide

Introduction

In today's digital age, the convenience of online banking has become increasingly sought after. Bank of Khartoum, a leading financial institution in Sudan, recognizes this trend and offers a seamless online account opening process for its customers. Whether you're a tech-savvy individual or a first-time online banking user, this guide will walk you through the steps involved in opening a Bank of Khartoum account online, ensuring a smooth and hassle-free experience.

Prerequisites

Before embarking on the online account opening journey, it's crucial to ensure you have the necessary prerequisites in place:
Personal Email Address: A valid email address is essential for receiving account notifications, transaction alerts, and important updates from the bank.
Original Proof of Identity: You will need to provide an original copy of your passport or national ID card to verify your identity. Ensure the document is clear, undamaged, and has not expired.
Initial Deposit: A minimum initial deposit of 10,000 Sudanese pounds is required to activate your account. This amount will cover account opening fees and stamps.
No Existing Bank of Khartoum Account: To proceed with online account opening, you must not have an existing account with Bank of Khartoum.

Opening an Account Using the Bankak App

The Bankak app, developed by Bank of Khartoum, provides a convenient platform for opening an account online. Follow these steps to get started:
Download the Bankak App: Visit the app store on your mobile device and search for "Bankak". Download and install the official Bankak app developed by Bank of Khartoum.
Launch the Bankak App: Once the app is installed, open it on your mobile device.
Initiate New Registration: Locate the "New Registration" option on the app's main menu. Click on it to begin the account opening process.
Select Account Type: Choose the type of account you wish to open from the available options. Common choices include savings accounts, current accounts, and salary accounts.
Complete Registration Form: Carefully fill out the registration form, providing accurate and up-to-date personal information. This includes your name, address, contact details, and employment information.
Attach Required Documents: Use the app's secure document uploading feature to attach clear copies of your original proof of identity and any other supporting documents.
Initial Deposit: Select the "Initial Deposit" option and follow the on-screen instructions to transfer the required 10,000 Sudanese pounds into your new account.
Submit Application: Once all information and documents have been uploaded and the initial deposit has been made, review the details carefully and submit your application.
Review and Verification: Bank of Khartoum will review your application and verify the submitted information. This process may take a few business days.
Account Activation: Upon successful verification, you will receive a notification via email and within the Bankak app informing you that your account has been activated.

Opening an Account Through the Bank of Khartoum Website

For those who prefer a web-based approach, Bank of Khartoum also offers an online account opening option through its official website. Follow these steps to proceed:
Access Bank of Khartoum Website: Open a web browser and navigate to the Bank of Khartoum website: https://bankofkhartoum.com/.
Locate Account Opening Page: On the website's main menu, find and click on the "Open Account" option. This will redirect you to the dedicated account opening page.
Choose Account Type: Select the type of account you wish to open from the available options, similar to the Bankak app process.
Initiate Online Registration: Click on the "Start Online Registration" button to begin the online account opening process.
Complete Registration Form: Fill out the online registration form with accurate and up-to-date personal information, including your name, address, contact details, and employment information.
Attach Required Documents: Upload clear copies of your original proof of identity and any other supporting documents using the secure file upload feature.
Initial Deposit: Select the "Initial Deposit" option and follow the on-screen instructions to transfer the required 10,000 Sudanese pounds into your new account.
Submit Application: Once all information and documents have been uploaded and the initial deposit has been made, review the details carefully and submit your application.
Review and Verification: Bank of Khartoum will review your application and verify the submitted information. This process may take a few business days.
Account Activation: Upon successful verification, you will receive an email notification and a message within
submitted by Commercial-Recipe-90 to BankakmBOK [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:18 Connect_Hunter How to broaden audience? Get out of being pigeonholed into specific audience group?

Hey guys, really glad for the group and all that l always learn here. I think l have a problem which l dont really know how to resolve/can it be resolved?
I started my channel ~year ago and do video podcasting/interviews on geopolitics/global macro/current affairs - I understand if its not people's focus/niche, dont worry about that, i really welcome anyone with insights to comment as its about the algorithm/technical shiz (you can check the channel via my bio if it helps explain).
Since a year ago l was growing slowly, reaching 1k subs in late summer 2023, and working on the 4k hours. Then in Oct l posted a video on India, and got 500k views - by comparison my highest at the point was 3-4k. My subs went from 1-5k in a couple weeks and the channel received lots of engagement.
Im not sharing this to show-off or complain either - l fully appreciate how lucky l have been in my journey so far, but am raising this in case this is a reoccurring problem for others, we can bring collective insights here.
The goal is more explain that since doing this event, l have begun to notice a trend. Many of my best performing videos are now all India-related and anything else l does really bad. Like we're talking 1000s-10,000s for any video that appeals to my existing audience vs a few 100 for anything else, even as l near 13k subs. Id hoped by a certain point views would begin to be consistent at say 1-2k views as others share happens, but its so starkly different l feel there is something wrong.
So while l want to cover Indian issues sometimes, its one part of much bigger picture. And lm now really worried that the channel is being unintentionally punished by the algorithm whenever l post a video that doesnt appeal to my existing audience. The quality, style, format etc is the same, just not the topic.
So whenever YouTube pushes a new video to my subs it fails and so YT stops promoting it, thinking its a bad video when it isnt.
Doesnt anyone have advice for this? How does one ensure their videos reach the right audiences? Or am l trying to be too broad by talking about events all over the world?
I've spent hours agonising over this, trying to troubleshoot why my videos arent performing, but cant figure out why. I feel this is a or the main factor and if anyone can help l'll happily do what l can to help your growth too.
submitted by Connect_Hunter to NewTubers [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:17 zack21122 Thomas Shepherd Is The Grand Daddy Of Cheating The Amazon Influencer Program

My Amazon Influencer Family, I respectfully ask for your time. All previous cheaters combined cannot amount to the level of cheating that I’m about to show you. If cheating at Amazon was a video game, Thomas Shepherd would be the main boss that you would have to defeat to win the game.
Lets Dig In And Laugh 😆😆😆
Main Page URL: https://www.amazon.com/shop/philopshershouse
As you can see I have arranged the videos that stuck out most and categorized them for your visual enjoyment. I have also added special emojis to ones that are extra fucking stupid that made me laugh. Enjoy!
Elevator Sign 😆
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0d7e320402a243b1a2c2489eea557964?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_BJhDqBfEiQ6sG
Elevator Again
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/029d45e6107c4403bacd63ce687f128c?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_6Cj5CJbwBIrKA
Elevator Again 😆😆😆
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0441788e6f3e4a0e8bcce6e3712095a6?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_VIDe9Zv8uy7U3
Toilet Seat Covers
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0dbbc9a9c85e47a9848a0802dcc93994?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_4bXYDVsJcWJX7
Bathroom
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/072f46a0b2cf49d7ad0a177d165beeb1?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_CF2Lb1EJQlFSb
Restaurant Bottle 😆😆😆
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/049cc44f043d4686a4c3e62d4c364aa1?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_EqZ78XLkNRofI
Parking Sign 🤡🤡🤡😆😆😆
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0dc928c979de42cb90bcde1de27fa482?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_aIYMEqQhN4OF3
Paper Towel Dispenser
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/02b84fb168d9416b997ae16a1780388c?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_OIWfZ0NPdYXGs
Bathroom Door Handle
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/03485834b81c4923a0b31314f5aae45e?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_HqqhR4sSplpZg
Bathroom Door Handle
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/09e9cbe75be0456e89cadecebc9d6378?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_ZfoWYplhVAAcu
Bathroom TP Dispenser 😆
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/06b581331ae7424aa071f5bd3d1cc3f9?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_XmNQRuJoY78pc
Random Door
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/013aa4bfc55e480bb56ddfa4cb310899?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_34kXns8izODGc
Soap Dispensers
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0ff27d16137b418ca75ca338e3c49122?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_Vrik5Py9VfIaj
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/00ace9602c9e47d98c45d8a54d66a8ec?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_k2i8Vh5CRcQCJ
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0856d42307c54d99a52d4960d492343c?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_7ipXpZDULjBOS
Extra LOL’s
https://www.amazon.com/vdp/0ef4ecae85c24f0b8fe04f18bec16db0?product=B06WP6CY4G&ref=cm_sw_sm_r_ib_mb_MtrgRPh0cDqHe
submitted by zack21122 to Amazon_Influencer [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:12 Current-Train-1390 My strategy for ffie

I know I’ve posted a lot of nonsense today (I’m excited lol this is a thrill) -
So this company is being saved by us right now. They were given 180 turnaround to get their stock up past $1 for 10 consecutive trading days. We’ve single-handedly made that happen in a matter of a few short days meanwhile they’ve been sitting for months lower then .10. In my opinion, this means we proved that we the people have the power.
In 9 consecutive business days, if this stock remains above $1 they will be saved from delist. We’ve already got 1 day covered so we just need to keep the momentum.
My theory is that wallstreet is doing whatever it is they can to create huge dips in this stock, it’s not us redditors clearly were on the same page. I think they are trying to make us sell off so that they can buy back all of our shares at a low price & hold for the 10 days so they can make money & say they “saved this company”.
They aren’t saving shit, we are. Never forget, we the people have the power. We are in this together. Band together, eat together.
I’m holding through May into mid June at the bare minimum - the closer to the delist the more wallstreet will want to take over
Dont let them win. We deserve this.
Disclaimer: I am no professional, just a 27 year old girl surviving in this economy just like the rest of you. If anyone has any additional thoughts or comments I’m open to hearing it!!! Let me know where you stand :)
submitted by Current-Train-1390 to roaringkitty [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:12 abtasty Optimizing Revenue Beyond Conversion Rate

Optimizing Revenue Beyond Conversion Rate
When it comes to CRO, or Conversion Rate Optimization, it would be natural to assume that conversion is all that matters. At least, we can argue that conversion rate is at the heart of most experiments. However, the ultimate goal is to raise revenue, so why does the CRO world put so much emphasis on conversion rates?
In this article, we’ll shed some light on the reason why conversion rate is important and why it’s not just conversions that should be considered.

Why is conversion rate so important?

Let’s start off with the three technical reasons why CRO places such importance on conversion rates:
  1. Conversion is a generic term. It covers the fact that an e-commerce visitor becomes a customer by buying something, or simply the fact that this visitor went farther than just the homepage, or clicks on a product page, or adds this product to the cart. In that sense, it’s the Swiss Army Knife of CRO.
  2. Conversion statistics are far easier than other KPI statistics, and they’re the simplest from a maths point of view. In terms of measurement, it’s pretty straightforward: success or failure. This means off-the-shelf code or simple spreadsheet formulas can compute statistics indices for decision, like the chance to win or confidence intervals about the expected gain. This is not that easy for other metrics as we will see later with Average Order Value (AOV).
  3. Conversion analysis is also the simplest when it comes to decision-making. There’s (almost) no scenario where raising the number of conversions is a bad thing. Therefore, deciding whether or not to put a variation in production is an easy task when you know that the conversion rate will rise. The same can’t be said about the “multiple conversions” metric where, unlike the conversion rate metric that counts one conversion per visitor even if this visitor made 2 purchases, every conversion counts and so is often more complex to analyze. For example, the number of product pages seen by an e-commerce visitor is harder to interpret. A variation increasing this number could have several meanings: the catalog can be seen as more engaging or it could mean that visitors are struggling to find what they’re looking for.
Due to the aforementioned reasons, the conversion rate is the starting point of all CRO journeys. However, conversion rate on its own is not enough. It’s also important to pay attention to other factors other than conversions to optimize revenue.

Beyond conversion rate

Before we delve into a more complex analysis, we’ll take a look at some simpler metrics. This includes ones that are not directly linked to transactions such as “add to cart” or “viewed at least one product page”.
If it’s statistically assured to win, then it’s a good choice to put the variation into production, with one exception. If the variation is very costly, then you will need to dig deeper to ensure that the gains will cover the costs. This can occur, for example, if the variation holds a product recommender system that comes with its cost.
The bounce rate is also simple and straightforward in that the aim is to keep the figure down unlike the conversion rate. In this case, the only thing to be aware of is that you want to lower the bounce rate unlike the conversion rate. But the main idea is the same: if you change your homepage image and you see the bounce rate statistically drop, then it’s a good idea to put it in production.
We will now move onto a more complex metric, the transaction rate, which is directly linked to the revenue.
Let’s start with a scenario where the transaction rate goes up. You assume that you will get more transactions with the same traffic, so the only way it could be a bad thing is that you earn less in the end. This means your average cart value (AOV) has plummeted. The basic revenue formula shows it explicitly:
Total revenue = traffic \ transaction rate * AOV*
Since we consider traffic as an external factor, then the only way to have a higher total revenue is to have an increase in both transaction rate and AOV or have at least one of them increase while the other remains stable. This means we also need to check the AOV evolution, which is much more complicated.
On the surface, it looks simple: take the sum of all transactions and divide that by the number of transactions and you have the AOV. While the formula seems basic, the data isn’t. In this case, it’s not just either success or failure; it’s different values that can widely vary.
Below is a histogram of transaction values from a retail ecommerce website. The horizontal axis represents values (in €), the vertical axis is the proportion of transactions with this value. Here we can see that most values are spread between 0 and €200, with a peak at ~€50.
When it comes to CRO, or Conversion Rate Optimization, it would be natural to assume that conversion is all that matters. At least, we can argue that conversion rate is at the heart of most experiments. However, the ultimate goal is to raise revenue, so why does the CRO world put so much emphasis on conversion rates?
In this article, we’ll shed some light on the reason why conversion rate is important and why it’s not just conversions that should be considered.

Why is conversion rate so important?

Let’s start off with the three technical reasons why CRO places such importance on conversion rates:
  1. Conversion is a generic term. It covers the fact that an e-commerce visitor becomes a customer by buying something, or simply the fact that this visitor went farther than just the homepage, or clicks on a product page, or adds this product to the cart. In that sense, it’s the Swiss Army Knife of CRO.
  2. Conversion statistics are far easier than other KPI statistics, and they’re the simplest from a maths point of view. In terms of measurement, it’s pretty straightforward: success or failure. This means off-the-shelf code or simple spreadsheet formulas can compute statistics indices for decision, like the chance to win or confidence intervals about the expected gain. This is not that easy for other metrics as we will see later with Average Order Value (AOV).
  3. Conversion analysis is also the simplest when it comes to decision-making. There’s (almost) no scenario where raising the number of conversions is a bad thing. Therefore, deciding whether or not to put a variation in production is an easy task when you know that the conversion rate will rise. The same can’t be said about the “multiple conversions” metric where, unlike the conversion rate metric that counts one conversion per visitor even if this visitor made 2 purchases, every conversion counts and so is often more complex to analyze. For example, the number of product pages seen by an e-commerce visitor is harder to interpret. A variation increasing this number could have several meanings: the catalog can be seen as more engaging or it could mean that visitors are struggling to find what they’re looking for.
Due to the aforementioned reasons, the conversion rate is the starting point of all CRO journeys. However, conversion rate on its own is not enough. It’s also important to pay attention to other factors other than conversions to optimize revenue.

Beyond conversion rate

Before we delve into a more complex analysis, we’ll take a look at some simpler metrics. This includes ones that are not directly linked to transactions such as “add to cart” or “viewed at least one product page”.
If it’s statistically assured to win, then it’s a good choice to put the variation into production, with one exception. If the variation is very costly, then you will need to dig deeper to ensure that the gains will cover the costs. This can occur, for example, if the variation holds a product recommender system that comes with its cost.
The bounce rate is also simple and straightforward in that the aim is to keep the figure down unlike the conversion rate. In this case, the only thing to be aware of is that you want to lower the bounce rate unlike the conversion rate. But the main idea is the same: if you change your homepage image and you see the bounce rate statistically drop, then it’s a good idea to put it in production.
We will now move onto a more complex metric, the transaction rate, which is directly linked to the revenue.
Let’s start with a scenario where the transaction rate goes up. You assume that you will get more transactions with the same traffic, so the only way it could be a bad thing is that you earn less in the end. This means your average cart value (AOV) has plummeted. The basic revenue formula shows it explicitly:
Total revenue = traffic \ transaction rate * AOV*
Since we consider traffic as an external factor, then the only way to have a higher total revenue is to have an increase in both transaction rate and AOV or have at least one of them increase while the other remains stable. This means we also need to check the AOV evolution, which is much more complicated.
On the surface, it looks simple: take the sum of all transactions and divide that by the number of transactions and you have the AOV. While the formula seems basic, the data isn’t. In this case, it’s not just either success or failure; it’s different values that can widely vary.
Below is a histogram of transaction values from a retail ecommerce website. The horizontal axis represents values (in €), the vertical axis is the proportion of transactions with this value. Here we can see that most values are spread between 0 and €200, with a peak at ~€50.
https://preview.redd.it/toe6tcg08u0d1.png?width=384&format=png&auto=webp&s=58a20aa968f43d8a485f9f4bd9b494f6bf538517
The right part of this curve shows a “long/fat tail”. Now let’s try to see how the difference within this kind of data is hard to spot. See the same graph below but with higher values, from €400 to €1000. You will also notice another histogram (in orange) of the same values but offset by €10.
https://preview.redd.it/cqgmh1628u0d1.png?width=387&format=png&auto=webp&s=0ca2cfc150dd989a868adcbc04ed435c6b330828
We see that the €10 offset which corresponds to a 10-unit shift to the right is hard to distinguish. And since it corresponds to the highest values this part has a huge influence when averaging samples. Due to the shape of this transaction value distribution, any measure of the average value is somewhat blurred, which makes it very difficult to have clear statistical indices. For this reason, changes in AOV need to be very drastic or measured over a huge dataset to be statistically asserted, making it difficult to use in CRO.
Another important feature is hidden even further on the right of the horizontal axis. Here’s another zoom on the same graph, with the horizontal axis ranging from €1000 to €4500. This time only one curve is shown.
https://preview.redd.it/egu5mtr38u0d1.png?width=404&format=png&auto=webp&s=f539ff85b05d5f93e07ac74b8577907747618b97
From the previous graph, we could have easily assumed that €1000 was the end, but it’s not. Even with a most common transaction value at €50, there are still some transactions above €1000, and even some over €3000. We call these extreme values.
As a result, whether these high values exist or not makes a big difference. Since these values exist but with some scarcity, they will not be evenly spread across a variation, which can artificially create difference when computing AOV. By artificially, we mean the difference comes from a small number of visitors and so doesn’t really count as “statistically significant”. Also, keep in mind that customer behavior will not be the same when buying for €50 as when making a purchase of more than €3000.
There’s not much to do about this except know it exists. One good thing though is to separate B2B and B2C visitors if you can, since B2C transaction values are statistically bigger and less frequent. Setting them apart will limit these problems.

What does this mean for AOV?

There are three important things to keep in mind when it comes to AOV:
  1. Don’t trust the basic AOV calculation; the difference you are seeing probably does not exist, and is quite often not even in the same observed direction! It’s only displayed to give an order of magnitude to interpret changes in conversion rates but shouldn’t be used to state a difference between variations’ AOV. That’s why we use a specific test, the Mann-Whitney U test, that’s adapted for this kind of data.
  2. You should only believe the statistical index on AOV, which is only valid to assess the direction of the difference between AOV, not its size. For example, you notice a +€5 AOV difference and the statistical index is 95%; this only means that you can be 95% sure that you will have an AOV gain, but not that it will be €5.
  3. Since transaction data is far more wild than conversion data, it will need stronger differences or bigger datasets to reach statistical significance. But since there are always fewer transactions than visitors, reaching significance on the conversion rate doesn’t imply being significant on AOV.
This means that a decision on a variation that has a conversion rate gain can still be complex because we rarely have a clear answer about the variation effect on the AOV.
This is yet another reason to have a clear experimentation protocol including an explicit hypothesis.
For example, if the test is about showing an alternate product page layout based on the hypothesis that visitors have trouble reading the product page, then the AOV should not be impacted. Afterwards, if the conversion rate rises, we can validate the winner if the AOV has no strong statistical downward trend. However, if the changes are in the product recommender system, which might have an impact on the AOV, then one should be more strict on measuring a statistical innocuity on the AOV before calling a winner. For example, the recommender might bias visitors toward cheaper products, boosting sales numbers but not the overall revenue.

The real driving force behind CRO

We’ve seen that the conversion rate is at the base of CRO practice because of its simplicity and versatility compared to all other KPIs. Nonetheless, this simplicity must not be taken for granted. It sometimes hides more complexity that needs to be understood in order to make profitable business decisions, which is why it’s a good idea to have expert resources during your CRO journey.
That’s why at AB Tasty, our philosophy is not only about providing top-notch software but also Customer Success accompaniment.
submitted by abtasty to u/abtasty [link] [comments]


2024.05.16 21:10 DeroBogan American Castle (Horror/Comedy - 109 Pages)

Only have the link to my Blacklist PDF but this is a script that has just been sitting on my PC for a few years that I recently decided to upload to the BL and get out there. Feel like I'm a much better writer now but, other than updating a reference to Bud Light, am pretty much done with this script.
Honestly, I hesitated to even put it out there (and seriously considered including a warning page but thought 109 pages was already high enough) as it could easily be seen as offensive. While I don't think there's anything particularly hateful about it and it could garner some beneficial controversy, I don't live in a bubble and there is absolutely some things that may upset some readers so TRIGGER WARNING: Tokenism, transphobia, racism, anti Semitism, and possibly more...
These warnings might not all be applicable but I'd rather cover my bases than shock someone. If you are offended, I genuinely do apologize and I hope that doesn't sound insincere. Please don't think I'm a bad person. Upsetting people is the last thing I want to do but this script is what it is...
Logline:
In a near future where police have been abolished, radicals from either side of the extreme divide break into a sadistic billionaire’s mansion in an attempt to acquire funds for their own vision of America. But the opposing groups will have to work together if they want to survive the booby-trapped slaughterhouse and uncover the billionaire’s sinister plans for their country.
Link:
https://blcklst.com/scripts/156561
submitted by DeroBogan to Screenwriting [link] [comments]


http://activeproperty.pl/